Justin Verlander Wins AL Cy Young Award, C.J. Wilson Places Sixth

It was a coronation a full six months in the making, and the Baseball Writers Association of America did not interfere. Detroit Tigers right hander Justin Verlander took home the America League’s Cy Young Award in unanimous fashion.

Verlander lead the league in wins (24), ERA (2.40) and strikeouts (250) for the Tigers, who fell to the Texas Rangers in six games in the American League Championship Series. Fellow starters Jered Weaver, James Shields, and CC Sabathia placed second through fourth in the balloting, while Togers closer Jose Valverde, who converted all 49 save opportunities in 2011, earned a fifth-place finish.

Clipped from: bbwaa.com (share this clip)

The only Ranger to receive a vote was left hander C.J. Wilson, who was named on eight of the 28 ballots. Wilson garnered one fourth-place vote and seven fifth-place selections. His total of nine points was 17 behind Valverde.

Wilson lead the Rangers with a 16-7 record and 2.94 ERA. He recorded 206 strikeouts in 223.1 innings of work.

Don’t be shy, comments are always welcome. If you’d like to stay informed, be sure to follow us onTwitter and don’t forget to Like our Facebook page.

Tags: C. J. Wilson Detroit Tigers Justin Verlander Texas Rangers

comments powered by Disqus