Quick history of Rangers Ballpark Names


Texas Rangers Fan Fest 2014 – Photo by David Cash

The Texas Rangers released a press release late last night that they have decided to sell the naming rights to Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

They they will hold a press conference today at 11 a.m. to officially announce the naming rights.

It has been speculated that it could be a Korean company such as Samsung, but no official word of who is buying the rights have been released.  That should be announced today at 11 at the ballpark.

When the ballpark opened in 1994 it was simply The Ballpark in Arlington.  During this time, naming rights were not as accepted or wide spread as they are today.

On May 7, 2004 the Ameriquest Mortgage Company bought the naming rights to the ballpark for $75 million over 30 years, giving the ballpark the name, Ameriquest Field in Arlington.   But the company starting struggling in 2007 and returned the naming rights to the Texas Rangers on March 19, 2007.  In September of 2007, Ameriquest Mortgage Company shutdown.

"“I am thrilled that fans entering our home field will see a team playing with high hopes in a stadium bearing the team’s name,” said Rangers owner Tom Hicks. “I have asked for an immediate overhaul of the signage and other products at the Ballpark.” (MLB>com)"

The ballpark is currently named Rangers Ballpark in Arlington (2006- present).  When the Texas Rangers severed its relationship with the then, failing company.  After the decision, Tom Hicks commented on the change.

"Before the new ballpark, the Texas Rangers didn’t have any corporate sponsors as a naming right to the stadium."

The previous parks were named below

Arlington Stadium (1972–1993) – It was also known as Turnpike stadium from 1965 to 1971, but when the Washington Senators moved here in ’72, the park was upgraded and the name was changed.

RFK Stadium (1962–1971) – Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (it was originally called the District of Columbia Stadium (D.C. Stadium),  was the home of the Washington Senators.

Griffith Stadium (1961) – Was also the home of the Washington Senators

  • Griffith Park was host to the original Washington Senators that were moved to Minnesota after the 1960 season to become the Minnesota Twins. It then hosted the expansion Washington Senators in their inaugural season of 1961, before closing its doors and giving way to the new multi-purpose facility, D.C. Stadium. It was tradition for the current U.S. President to throw out the first pitch of the opening day home game every year. (Source Texas Ranger.com)