Texas Rangers are 2023 World Series Champions

A Texas team that had no business being in this position closes it out in Arizona in game five.
World Series - Texas Rangers v Arizona Diamondbacks - Game Five
World Series - Texas Rangers v Arizona Diamondbacks - Game Five / Jamie Squire/GettyImages

5. 126. World Series Game 5. 0. 8. Final

The Texas Rangers ended a 52-year drought and won the first World Series championship in team history. It took a miraculous effort from Nathan Eovaldi. It took persistance from the starting lineup. It took a relief effort from Josh Sborz that fans will never forget. Texas was able to win game five 5-0 to close out the World Series.

Nathan Eovaldi pitched six remarkable innings as he skated in and out of trouble. He did walk five batters, but he made critical pitches when he needed them. Arizona just could not get the big hit against Eovaldi in this one. If Arizona had got just one hit to score a run good chance that this series would be headed back to Arlington.

The Texas Rangers' offense finally breaks through

Texas was no-hit for the first six innings. In the seventh Corey Seager finally got the first hit when he hit a weak ground ball to an abandoned third base. Evan Carter followed with a double. Mitch Garver provided the scoring with a clutch RBI-single to break the scoreless tie. After that Texas was the one applying pressure. They could not score any more runs in the seventh. They loaded the bases in the eighth but could not score. In the ninth Jonah Heim had a big RBI-double and advanced to third on an error by center fielder Alek Thomas. The error allowed two runs to score. Marcus Semien followed up with his second home run in as many days. It stretched the lead to 5-0.

Jose Leclerc was warming in the pen, but Bochy chose to stick with Sborz for the ninth and his faith was rewarded. Sborz finished out the night with 2 1/3 scoreless innings. This was the final out.

Sborz absolutely froze Marte with the curveball and it was over. The Texas Rangers for the remainder of time will always be known as the 2023 World Series Champions.

World Series MVP

Corey Seager won the MVP award. Seager had the biggest hits in this series. He had the game-tying home run in game one. He had a two run home run in game 3, another home run in game four, and he had the first hit of the night in game five. Seager definitely deserved the MVP award.

There are no more games. The Texas Rangers are World Series champions. The franchise is now removed from the list of teams that have never won a title. There will be several questions about the roster for next season. Those will be answered down the road. Texas will be celebrating this title for a long time.

More News from Nolan Writin