Texas Rangers kick of awards season with multiple finalists

The team won the World Series almost a week ago and now it is time for the individual awards season as finalists are named for all of the major awards.
Texas Rangers Victory Parade
Texas Rangers Victory Parade / Sam Hodde/GettyImages
1 of 2

When a team wins the World Series it is accepted that they did so because of the quality of the roster and coaching staff. On Sunday night Jonah Heim, Nathaniel Lowe, and Adolis Garcia were recognized as Gold Glove winners at their positions. Monday night the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) named the finalists for all of the major awards that will be unveiled next week. The four major awards are AL and NL Rookie of the Year,AL and NL Manager of the Year, AL and NL Cy Young Award, and AL and NL MVP. Texas finished with multiple finalists for those awards.

AL Manager of the Year

Bruce Bochy was named as a finalist for the AL Manager of the Year award. Bochy came in and completely turned around this organization. Texas won 68 games in 2022 prior to his arrival. In his first season they won 90 games and finished one win away from winning the AL West outright. He then took it to another level by leading this team through a difficult playoff journey that saw them knock off Kevin Cash and the Rays in two games,. Then Texas went to Baltimore and knocked off Brandon Hyde's Orioles squad that won over 100 games. Bochy then kept a cool hand through a difficult seven-game series against the Astros. Finally he guides Texas to their first World Series championship in franchise history.

Bochy has won this award just one time back in 1996 in his time with the San Diego Padres. He is not the favorite to win this award. I am sure he would much prefer the four World Series championships his teams have won over this Manager of the Year honor anyhow.

The other finalists for this award are Tampa Bay Rays manager Kevin Cash and Baltimore Orioles manager Brandon Hyde. Cash has won this award twice previous in 2020 and 2021. Hyde was a finalist in 2022 when he finished second. Their two teams finished first and second in the AL East. Both teams also were swept by Bruce Bochy and the Texas Rangers in the playoffs.

The AL Manager of the Year award will be announced live on MLB Network on Tuesday, November 14th.